Growing Kefir Grains

2

March 10, 2013 by transilvanian

Me and my family were drinking daily this wonder drink called kefir. My son has been  enjoying his daily kefir drink since he turned 4 months old.

We could buy if from the local market for a decent price, and then it dissapeared.

The only place we could get it from was an Organic shop for $6.75 for half a litre.

If you have it once every now and then, it’s kinda OK, but when you need one litre each day, that’s about $400 a month.

So I started searching around, and I ended up buying my own kefir grains, and making my own kefir, for the cost of a litre of milk.

As weeks passed by, my grains seemed to have enjoyed what I was feeding the and the way I looked after them, so they started multiplying.

This is how I started growing milk kefir grains of my own.

2 thoughts on “Growing Kefir Grains

  1. Julie says:

    Hi Marius, I have had my kefir grains (from you) for just a few weeks now and they are doing so well. I have switched from reduced fat supermarket milk to full fat organic milk and the grains are multiplying at a steady rate. I have about double the amount you sent me and am now able to make 1.5 cups every 36 hours or so. We are really enjoying it.
    Julie

  2. I live on the north side of brisbane,I would like to know where I can buy kifer grains in brisbane.
    Thank you.
    Kenneth Taudevin

Leave a Reply

